It is illegal to drive in Idaho when the driver is under the influence of alcohol, illegal drugs, and/or in some cases prescription medication. If your blood alcohol content is .08 % or more (and .02 % for driver under the age of 21) then you can be charged with a DUI. The best way to avoid a DUI is not to drink and drive. In Idaho if your BAC (blood alcohol content) limit is .09 to .19 then you are charged with a misdemeanor DUI punishable by up to six months in jail, $1,000.00 fine and a driver’s license suspension from 90 to 180 days. However, after the initial 30 day license suspension you may be eligible for a limited privileges license which primarily allows you to drive to work. A second DUI within 10 years is punishable by a minimum mandatory period of 10 days in jail up to a year, a fine up to $2,000.00, and a one year mandatory release from confinement with no driving privileges of any kind. You’ll also most likely be required to get an ignition interlock device.
A third DUI within 10 years is punishable by a thirty day minimum mandatory period in jail which could be set up to five years. Fines of up to $5,000.00 and five year license suspension after being released from confinement with no driving privileges of any kind. Once again you will be required to obtain an ignition interlock device. For BAC above .20 there are enhanced penalties which often involve felony charges.
As noted above, it’s also possible to be charged with a DUI if you are ingesting some type of substance that impairs your ability to safely operate a motor vehicle. The penalties for this type of violation are set on a case by case basis.
If you are needing help with a DUI case in Twin Falls, ID or the surrounding areas, Felton & Felton Attorneys would be glad to offer a free consultation.